Ocasia logo

Council News

Thohir, Batra, Lee become IOC Members

Date : 27 Jun 2019

Lausanne, Switzerland, June 26, 2019: The 134th IOC Session elected HRH Prince Feisal Al Hussein and Nawal El Moutawakel as new members of the IOC Executive Board on Wednesday.

The Session also voted for 10 new IOC Members, including 18th Asian Games mastermind and Indonesian Olympic Committee President Erick Thohir, Indian Olympic Association President Narinder Dhruv Batra and the President of the Korean Sport & Olympic Committee, Lee Kee Heung.

HRH Prince Feisal will replace Gunilla Lindberg on the IOC EB at the end of the 134th IOC Session. Mrs Lindberg’s eight-year term on the IOC EB thus comes to an end.

Nawal El Moutawakel will replace Willi Kaltschmitt Luján on the IOC EB on January 1, 2020. Mr Kaltschmitt Luján reaches the age limit at the end of this year.

The group of new IOC Members is composed of seven Individual Members and three Members whose election is linked to a function within a National Olympic Committee or a Continental Association of NOCs.


Odette Assembe Engoulou (Female, 25.09.1970, Cameroon)

Spyros Capralos (Male, 15.04.1955, Greece)

Laura Chinchilla (Female, 28.03.1959, Costa Rica)

Matlohang Moiloa-Ramoqopo (Female, 01.11.1967, Lesotho)

Filomena Fortes (Female, 10.04.1966, Cape Verde)

Tidjane Thiam (Male, 29.07.1962, C?te d’Ivoire)

Erick Thohir (Male, 30.05.1970, Indonesia)


Two IOC Members linked to a function within an NOC:

Narinder Dhruv Batra (Male, 19.04.1957, India, President of the Indian Olympic Association)

Lee Kee Heung (Male, 03.01.1955, Republic of Korea, President of the Korean Sport & Olympic Committee)

One IOC Member with a role within a Continental Association of NOCs:

Mustapha Berraf (Male, 21.02.1954, Algeria, President of ANOCA)

After these elections, the total number of IOC Members is now 105.

The IOC Session re-elected, after eight years of membership, Gerardo Werthein (Argentina).

The Session also extended the terms of office of three IOC Members who will reach the age limit of 70 at the end of 2019 or 2020: John Coates (Australia), U?ur Erdener (Turkey) and Mamadou D. Ndiaye (Senegal).


The IOC Session approved the election as IOC Honorary Members of the following IOC Members who are due to finish their term of office at the end of 2019 because of the age limit:

Franco Carraro (Italy), elected in 1982

Iván Dibós (Peru), elected in 1982

Habu Gumel (Nigeria), elected in 2009

Willi Kaltschmitt Luján (Guatemala), elected in 1988

Samih Moudallal (Syria), elected in 1998

Austin L. Sealy, KT (Barbados), elected in 1994

Chang Ung (Democratic People’s Republic of Korea), elected in 1996



Any personal data submitted will not be used for any direct marketing or unsolicited follow-up.